The first step…

…well, technically that might be registering the blog itself.

As much as I would like to consider half my journey done with a single step, considering this is a venture with no foreseeable end, that is hardly the most accurate way of looking at it.

IMG_7890

Being somewhat unused to this, I shall start off my first post as follows: to outline the goals of this blog, perhaps something better suited to the about page, but I may as well reinforce the purpose while I can to avoid being waylaid. (Additionally, isn’t there some pressure for your very first recipe to be a great one? One that will characterize your style/etc forever? Then again I don’t know if I’ve ever looked at any blog’s first post, let alone their first recipe post…so maybe not. Still, let’s just settle for some miscellaneous photos instead.)

I first thought about starting a food blog when I realized that I’m not very organized. I write down things I’ve done, flavour ideas and combinations, adapted recipes and future alterations on little scraps of paper. These pieces tend to have a short life expectancy.

3egg

And so I thought a blog might be a useful way to store all these things I’ve done, as well as to label the numerous (blurry) photos I take. With search functions, tags, categories and archives it also serves as generally easier navigated than my mother’s large three ring binder.

So, as a purely personal function, why is it a public blog? If I want to protect my privacy and identity, surely a private blog would provide me with more leeway and less need to be wary.

IMG_8145

The first reason is purely practical: this way I can view it and share recipes with people I know with ease. I do not have to login in each time I want to look up an old recipe, a challenge for someone like me with poor password-memory-retention.

Secondly, I admit I have some interest in sharing and connecting with the dear old internet. I have to confess, this is not my first blog. I was one of those children who would start a blog, wanting to gain fame of some sort off of two or three measly posts and then quickly ditch it.

img_4905.jpg

There is something lonely about publishing something publicly and never having it be seen.

But now that I’ve managed to shift my focus from attention to a personal use, perhaps this blog shall be more long-lived than it’s predecessors. I certainly hope so anyhow, as I’ve realized my commitment abilities are dangerously poor.

I hear a lot about networking. Social media and commenting on other’s blogs may be something I shall eventually involve myself in, but for now it’s just for me and anyone who may somehow or another come across it.

So yes, a digital food journal of sorts: welcome to ten times tea.

2 thoughts on “The first step…

Leave a Reply

