breakfast nutmeg and plum cake

I find baking on a weekday is always pushed back to later in the evening.

For example, a few days ago, I cleverly deduced that I required a cake for breakfast.

This was at 10 pm.

By the time the cake was out of the oven it was after twelve.

Well, it was all for the sake of my morning-self, my last night-self reasoned. (Besides, those charmingly wrinkly out of season plums were slowly shrivelling away).

I tried to hold onto that thought when I woke up the next morning for an early lab.

It was all for you, morning-self. All for you.

Recipe notes:

This produced a very thick batter, and consequently a bread-like sort of cake which is appropriate for breakfast. Be careful not to overbake as I did…it was rather dry. As I made this last night, I chose to leave the cake in the pan to cool and to rest overnight (so I could go to sleep); to take this into account I definitely should have cooked the cake a bit less. However, leaving it to cool uncovered in the pan found the perfect balance between it dehydrating (as some many things do in our climate) and losing the crisp crust (if covered or put in a bag while still warm). A last note: I also sprinkled a bit of rum overtop the night before (I was originally considering a syrup, as it looked a bit dry, but chose otherwise as I didn’t want it too sweet). It didn’t help too much on the cake front, but soaked into the slightly oven-dried plums and was there was absolutely magnificent.

Additionally: some creme fraiche or light cream (which I prefer to heavy when eating dry things) helps.

Nutmeg plum cake

I had the coffeecake from Thomas Keller’s Bouchon Bakery open at the time…while there may be little resemblance, it deserves some credit.

Preheat oven to 375F. Lightly butter and line a 7″ round cake or springform pan with parchment paper.

In a bowl beat together:

70 g oil

30 g honey

65 g granulated sugar

50 g brown sugar

2 eggs (approximately 100 g)

Separately, whisk together (or if you have no standards, like me, put it all straight into the oil mixture)

200 g flour

0.5 tsp baking soda

1.5 tsp baking powder

0.5 tsp salt

generous quantity grated nutmeg

0.75 tsp cinnamon

Combine to form a very thick batter, mixing as minimally as possible. Scrape into the prepared pan. Arrange/sprinkle on top:

2 plums, sliced

a spoon of brown sugar

sliced almonds

Bake for 40-50 minutes until crumbs, not streaks of batter, cling to the skewer.

Place pan on a wire rack to cool. And, because you’re allowed to do this when you’re an adult, and besides it all evaporates anyways, sprinkle overtop:

2-3 capfuls rum

How is this recipe format? It’s how I like to take notes for myself. 

2 thoughts on “breakfast nutmeg and plum cake

Leave a Reply

