red fife, cherry and ginger muffins

Happy Fiesta Friday! (Thank you again Angie from the Novice Gardener for hosting such a fun celebration! And the hardworking cohosts, Jhuls, thenotsocreativecook (who is on the contrary, very creative!) and Mila, of milkandbun (gosh, what a lovely blog name!)) Although I may be a bit late in joining the festivities… this past week felt a bit crazy and rushed and I realized that sometimes I just have to work a bit harder. I also realized I can’t always use being busy as an excuse – there should be time enough for everything if I’m adequately efficient.

I still have a bit of that “just get past this” mentality left over. I only look at what is directly ahead of me–that one project or test or essay. Part of this is because I leave too many things to the last minute, and part of this is because I only see what I’m doing as something I have to do, not something I’m privileged to do.I need to change this (and while I’m well aware of this shortcoming, changing the way you think is still difficult!)… After all, as soon as you get past one thing, something else is going to come up. That’s how things will always be and just subsisting by performing the minimum isn’t going to continue to work for me.

But anyways, that is definitely enough of me complaining about me complaining, so a quick recipe today–I meant to bring a bag of muffins with me on one of my evening exam days, but I forgot. So I ate most of them at home. Ah, what a pity.

Recipe notes:

Again, I think it’s just my oven, but I didn’t get the colour I wanted to on these–the sides were very pale. Otherwise, I was originally intending to use some of the frozen rhubarb leftover from the summer, but it looked in a bit tough shape so I ended up using some frozen cherries instead. And then some ginger. And some of the red fife flour we found recently.

Red fife cherry and ginger muffins

Adapted from River Cafe‘s rhubarb muffins. Makes 12 muffins.

1 c red fife flour

1 c all purpose flour

½ c rolled oats, plus additional to top

½ c packed brown sugar

generous pinch salt

¾ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp cinnamon

1 c 2.5% yoghurt

1/3 c milk

2 large eggs

small knob of ginger

1 ½ c frozen cherries

3 ounces butter, melted

granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 375F

Combine the flours, oats, brown sugar, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon in a bowl.

Separately, whisk together the yogurt, milk, and eggs. Grate the ginger into this mixture.

Toss the frozen cherries (not defrosted) in the dry ingredients. Mix in the wet ingredients until just combined. Pour the melted butter overtop and gently incorporate.

Distribute the batter amongst 12 paper-lined muffin wells. Sprinkle with a few rolled oats and some granulated sugar.

Bake for 20-30 minutes or until the tops have browned and an inserted skewer is removed clean.

Immediately take out of pans and leave on the a rack to cool.

11 thoughts on “red fife, cherry and ginger muffins

    1. Red fife is a heritage wheat; I think we mostly just see it in Canada, but I’m not too sure! I like using it because I prefer its flavour to the usual whole wheat flour, but anything would do!

      Like

Leave a Reply

