things other people make: swiss bircher muesli from caroline’s cooking

Alright, well, this may not seem to be the most exciting post. However, for me personally, at least, this classic recipe has led to a rather revelatory experience.

I’ve never found the thought of muesli as that appealing. I was probably stuck on the idea of uncooked oats, and imagining them all hard and dry or tasting like uncooked flour. It wasn’t something I ever even considered trying until I saw this post from Caroline of Caroline’s Cooking, which made muesli look extremely appetizing! Caroline’s blog is fantastically well-rounded, which I really admire (I do tend to stray very heavily on the desserts side), and wonderfully conversational, practical, and healthy. It’s the sort of blog you instinctively trust, even on such tenuous matters such as muesli, and I am very glad I did.

And so now I love muesli, not only for the flavour, but for it’s convenience.

I like having oatmeal in the morning, but it does take a little while to cook. Muesli, on the other hand, is very quick – only grate the apple and add the yogurt.

Swiss Bircher muesli

Borrowed, and only very slightly adapted, from Caroline’s Cooking

1/2 c oats

1/4 c milk

1/4 c water

1 tbsp raisins

1/2 an apple, grated

3 tbsp Greek yoghurt

ground cinnamon

honey

Mix together the oats, milk, water and raisins; cover and refrigerate overnight.

In the morning, mix in the apple, yoghurt, a bit of cinnamon and some honey to sweeten.

 

Previous things other people make: baked “mathri” from the Divine Spice Box

2 thoughts on “things other people make: swiss bircher muesli from caroline’s cooking

Leave a Reply

