rose and marmalade financier

I’ve been feeling a bit lost lately. I finished a larger sort of project and now I feel a bit aimless despite the fact that finals are coming up soon. Yes, just when I really shouldn’t be feeling aimless.

(Okay, I’ll go study after this.)

But first: these were actually good.

This isn’t something I say too often (unfortunately).

They did, of course, have their problems; definitely a bit too strong on the rose and a bit heavy on the sugar. But in the end they were quite nice actually.

It’s not as though most things I make are inedible (I think, in practice, that rarely happens for anybody, really) but most things I make I don’t feel to inclined to make again.

This one, however, has some more potential and I’d like to revisit it later to refine.

Recipe notes:

This was my first time using rose petals and I underestimated how strong they were. I found the rose flavour not unpleasantly strong, but still perhaps slightly overpowering and so I didn’t notice the marmalade as much as I wanted to. Next time I would reduce/eliminate the rose water and perhaps some of the rose petal as well.

I guess one of my favourite marmalades is the Ikea one; the elderflower makes it quite floral. But it depends—sometimes I prefer having a more chunky marmalade to bake with. But in that case I usually candy orange peels for that sort of thing (we never really have enough citrus around, let alone Seville oranges, to embark into serious marmalade making. But I would like to do some serious marmalade making someday.)

I really enjoyed the texture of this one–I didn’t see any issues arising from the marmalade addition. I think this would be interesting with other preserves; though I’m not certain how wetter jams would fare.

Rose & marmalade financiers

Adapted from Bouchon Bakery by Thomas Keller and Sebastein Rouxel. Makes 5 in 4-cm diameter tart pans, or 12 in financier molds.

100 g butter, and then some (for buttering the pans)

110 g sugar

60 g ground almond

40 g flour

pinch salt

100 g egg white

around 2 tsp dried rose petals, slightly crushed (or however many you like; the batter should be fairly speckled), plus additional to top

¼ tsp rosewater

50 g orange marmalade

Preheat the oven to 425F

Brush the pans or molds with softened butter and chill until firm.

Whisk together the sugar, flour, ground almond, and salt.

Place the 100 g of butter in a small pan over medium low heat and proceed to brown it, stirring. Set aside.

Form a well in the dry ingredients, pour in the egg whites. Gradually incorporate the dry ingredients and beat well. Then, beat in the marmalade, rose petals, and rosewater.

Beat in the browned butter in two additions; it should still be hot in order for the batter to emulsify properly.

Fill molds/pans with the batter. Top each with a couple rose petals.

Place the pans in the oven, turn the temperature down to 350F and bake for 20 minutes (financier molds) or 20-25 minutes (tart pans), until well browned and an inserted skewer comes out clean.

Unmold and let cool on a wire rack.

4 thoughts on “rose and marmalade financier

Leave a Reply

