fiddlehead and chive quiche

I don’t know if it’s that noticeable, but it’s been a bit quieter around here on tentimestea. I think I’ve been developing a bit of blog fatigue. I’m certainly not in lack of food posts and photos (I’ve got 27 drafts at the moment–well, 26 with this one published–in various stages of completion).

But I’ve been feeling a bit tired lately. Maybe because work and studying and the occasional attempt at being social is slowly burning me out. Maybe because I have such a backlog of posts, so by the time I get around to writing them, I’ve already forgotten everything I had to say. Maybe because by the time I get around to posting the posts, I feel less excited about them because it’s been so long. Maybe because I realllly don’t like uploading the excessive amount of photos I take.

(Yes, the photos must be the main culprit.)

Part of this fatigue has manifested itself into lazy proofreading. In fact, almost no proofreading. Which should not come as a surprise to any readers of this blog as it is absolutely replete with errors and quite frankly I’m very prone to long-winded and cluttered run-on sentences and the occasional excessive adjective.

The run-on sentences are really too much trouble for me to deal with (after all, “I have made this longer than usual because I have not had time to make it shorter” and I can be, despite appearances, occasionally quite the busy person), but when I was skimming through last week’s post I had to let out an audible gasp at my use of “it’s” instead of “its.” No, I didn’t actually gasp–I’m usually not the best with grammar–but it was as though that single word was written in a font five sizes bigger than the surrounding text. It turns out that the use of it’s/its has possibly become one of my pet peeves–when I’m reading something it really stands out to me, and yet I always seem to type “it’s” irregardless. (So let me know if you see me using it improperly so I can quickly change it!)

But on to the quiche. Quiche is oh goodness one of the richest and loveliest things. I’ve been wanting to make it since seeing Johanne’s lovely spring-vegetable filled quiche on the French Gardener Dishes. The only problem with making it yourself is that you see all the butter and cream and eggs and cheese that goes into it…

This quiche has managed to jump the very, very long queue because I wanted to post this before the end of the fiddleheads season. We usually cook fiddleheads only with some butter and salt and pepper, but then your leftovers can be used for the quiche (if you have any).

You might not think it, but the pastry was light and flaky, even under a thick layer of custard (though I needed to bake it more to get more colour on the bottom), buttery and a bit salty.

I also had quite a bit of fun with all the herbs…I only wish I had some parsley though! Ever since it fell to the vicious onslaught of aphids I’ve been sorely missing its presence.

Oh and happy Fiesta Friday to you all! I’m a bit late to Angie’s party, co-hosted by the absolutely lovely Loretta of Safari Of The Mind and marvellous Caroline of Caroline’s Cooking

bone
from Bone by Jeff Smith (Image source)

Fiddlehead and chive quiche

Pastry

Adapted from Chez Pim. Makes enough to thinly line 10 4-cm tart pans. I enjoyed this half-spelt pastry quite a bit more than the full-spelt pastry I made for this tart

1 stick butter

75 g spelt flour

75 g white flour

generous pinch salt

cold water

The method is to pile the flour and salt on the counter, cut the butter into thin pieces, and incorporate it using the heel of your hand into large flakes as opposed to rubbing it in with the finger tips. Follow the procedure outlined here by Chez Pim. My description is quite subpar and nowhere near as handy and useful as her photo guide!

 

Filling

Adapted from the French Gardener Dishes and her delightfully golden asparagus and caramelized shallot quiche. 

fiddleheads

10 cremini mushrooms

1 large slice red onion

large handful chives

large chunk of 3 year aged cheddar

handful of soft, unripened goat cheese

5 eggs

125 mL heavy cream

125 mL milk

2 tsp dijon mustard

2 tsp grainy mustard

some herbs: lengths of chive, chive flowers, sage leaves, sprigs of thyme, fronds of dill, parsley leaves would be nice here

Preheat oven to 375.

Clean fiddleheads, boil in salted water until cooked through and just tender (8 minutes or so). Drain.

Chop mushrooms into dice, saute in a pan with a pat of butter until well-browned. Finely chop the red onion and chives. Grate the cheddar and crumble the goat cheese.

Whisk together the eggs, cream, milk, mustards, and season with a pinch of salt and some pepper.

Roll out the pastry on a floured surface until nice and thin (a 1/4″ thick or so). Cut into pieces and use them to line the tart pans, re-roll the excess and scraps until all pans are lined.

Arrange the chopped mushroom, onion, chives and cheeses on the bottom of the pans. Cover with the egg mixture, filling each tart nearly to the top. Arrange fiddleheads and the herbs on top.

Bake the small tarts for around 25 minutes or until set and slightly golden on top.

Let cool a bit before unmoulding. Serve with yoghurt and shaved radishes (oh parsley would also be nice here as well).

28 thoughts on “fiddlehead and chive quiche

  1. Looks delicious and I’ll let you know of any spelling errors I see. Every so often I take a week off of blogging, just because. Sometimes you just need to replenish. I’ve never seen 27 drafts,i can’t even imagine that one! I could only pray for that problem. And yes the pictures are the thing that can make it most tedious especially when they have have to be perfect. Be good to yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for such a sweet comment Trudy! (And thanks for keeping your eye out for spelling errors!) And ack, those pictures…I tend to make up for the lack of creativity with sheer quantity–also quite time consuming!! Now if only my 27 drafts were completed (and the photos already uploaded….) 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I actually liked the pictures, I’ve always wanted to try fiddle heads but when I’ve seen them they were ridiculously expensive. And yours look great here and so does the crust on the quiche.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I know, seeing how they’re quite costly, I could only feel justified making these quiches with the leftover fiddleheads! Still, with a short window of availability, at least you can’t buy too many… And thanks! I was a bit short of pastry so I rolled it out quite thin and now I think I really prefer thinner pastry to thicker!

            Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope it goes well Donna! If you do try it, let me know what sort of vegetables you use and how it turns out 🙂 (Hopefully I’ve managed to catch the tail end of fiddlehead season with this post!)

      Like

    1. Aww, thanks for the encouragement Lina! Quite a few of my drafts are failures, which I’ve become a bit more hesitant to post. I used to love posting about my failures because I always had plenty to say and plenty to learn. Now I think I might only want to post better things on my blog, haha!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! This was my first time making quiche and I was quite inspired by the French Gardener Dishes who demonstrated how easy it is to use whatever vegetables and herbs and cheeses you have on hand 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome to Fiesta Friday, you’re never too late for the party my dear, especially since you brought these awesome mini quiches. Love the presentation and the pictures. I can only imagine what these might have tasted like, they really look amazing! The idea of using a cheesecake pan in one of your pictures gives it a nice dramatic look with the height of the pastry. I hear you about blog fatigue, I guess we all go through it at some time or another. Thanks for popping in to FF, we hope to see those drafts published in the not too distant? :)) No pressure! ha ha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Loretta! I quite liked the tall quiche in the cheesecake pan as well…but it was also the one that leaked all over the pan! I have to be a bit more careful lining that pan with the pastry… and luckily there was enough custard that it still ended up quite full!
      It’s nice to hear that blogging fatigue is quite ubiquitous…and I hope it’s abating for me! Still working on those drafts…plenty of photos to upload and plenty of words to write!

      Like

  3. Really nice quiches Laurie! They look so tasty and interesting. I don’t think I’ve ever had fiddleheads … though in Nepal it looked like that’s what they were preparing in the hills. It’s nice to discover new things.

    To be honest I’ve never noticed your spelling errors and I think you write really well.
    I hope you feel more blog-energised soon… I know what you mean about the drafts. I have a few and I might make some (not all) of the cakes again (maybe with a new different twist) so that I can be all fresh and enthusiastic about them when I do the final drafts. I look forward to seeing all your stuff at some point…

    Anyway, you’ve inspired me to make quiches soon, so thank you! Have a lovely week! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Lili! Oh, I’d love to see fiddleheads in the hills of Nepal 🙂
      That’s a very good thought about making things again, as I always struggle when I write about it later…not only the enthusiasm, but sometimes I don’t quite remember what went well and what didn’t. The idea to make it with a new twist is also great as I often feel a bit reluctant to make the same thing twice (which does not bode well for the reproducibility of any of my recipes, haha!). This reminds me quite a bit of your babka post with all the different yummy renditions (and which I’ve still yet to try!)
      I’m glad! I’d be interested in seeing what sort of healthy quiche you would produce! Have a lovely week as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Laurie! Yes, the Babka example was a bit extreme though I’m currently doing a bit of a soufflé week. The quiche is on my to-do list now I’ve got a nice visual memory of yours, Look forward to seeing your next creations! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I know of that fatigue, I’m in the middle of it myself. And I have over 40 drafts!! Some from 2 years ago! If this was a job, I’d be fired 😀 But still I love looking at food and recipes and I love your quiche. I think maybe I’ll sub the fiddleheads with asparagus, what do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh dear, you too? Well at least I know, from the longevity of your blog, that fatigue can be lived with and overcome! Wow, 40 drafts! I have some older ones as well, from close to around a year ago, that I’ve been debating over posting. It does feel a bit long, but there are a couple that I’m quite fond of despite never having yet posted them.
      Asparagus sounds lovely! I think it would be rather nice with some very thin stalks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

