a freeform onion and goat cheese loaf from selma’s table

Selma‘s passing reminded me of two seemingly contrary things simultaneously. It reminded of how much goes on beyond the blog. Some share more than others but a blog can only reveal a few facets of a persons life. And yet from all the dear friends that Selma has made, it also reminded me how evident it is that blogs also contain the incredible power to touch and connect to others. Selma’s blog, a blog that I had only been following for a few months before hearing the news, was exceptional in this way.

She brought all her readers, friends and the casual peruser, to her table, set them down, and told them a story over a bite, a meal or a sweet treat.

I’m a bit late to this tribute, as I was, unfortunately, in getting to know Selma. This is what this tribute will be about for me–coming to learn a little bit more about an amazing blogger who has touched so many lives.

As a food blog tributes go, making some food is often appropriate. It took a while to decide what I would make; at first I considered making a sourdough bread after reading about Twinkle and her many children that Selma shared.

But in the end I decided to do something I don’t do often enough: I decided to try one of Selma’s own recipes. I’d like to call it a trust exercise: a slightly uncertain foray the first time around, where you set off a bit blindly, relying only on another’s ability to convey their expertise in written directions…but perhaps that’s getting a bit melodramatic. However, it is certainly a way of getting to know a bit about someone.

We already learn so much about someone from just reading their posts. It might be the ingredients they choose, the methodology, or even the way the steps are explained and the recipe is written. All of Selma’s recipes come with a story–conversational, witty and effortless to read. But you can go one step further– because sometimes you come to understand this story even better when you make the recipe yourself.

Selma not only excelled at flavourful and creative vegetable dishes but also heartier and meatier fare and sweet desserts. I chose a quick bread–it sounded stunning in its description and somehow managed to look even better.

Selma described this loaf as a humble one, and it is humble in its majesty. It produces a very unpretentious and rugged freeform loaf, generously topped with spring onions, thyme and chunks of goat cheese. It is rich with the generous amount of cheese and forthcomingly flavourful.

I love the generous amount of cheese in the loaf, especially that one third is saved for the top. It browns and crisps and tastes lovely toasted, whereas the cheese in the loaf itself stays soft and creamy.

I made only a couple changes, using the soft unripened goat cheese I had in place of the more ripened cheese Selma used, and substituting part spelt flour and a zucchini in place of the potato.

zucchini, spring onion and goat cheese loaf

300 g zucchini, grated, tossed with a pinch of salt, allowed to sit for 30 minutes in a sieve before squeezing the excess water out

125 g all purpose flour

75 g spelt flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cayenne

a few good pinches salt

4 long and skinny spring onions, sliced thinly for inside the bread and 1 bulky green onion with a bit of bulb sliced on the bias for the top of the bread

150 g soft unripened chevre

handful fresh thyme

1 egg

3 tbsp milk

1 tsp grainy mustard

I’ll direct you to Selma’s Table for the methodology and full recipe.

Finally, a thank you to Angie, Sue, Jhuls and Elaine for organizing this tribute to allow everyone to take part. And a thick buttered slice of bread and a hug to all missing dear Selma xx

17 thoughts on “a freeform onion and goat cheese loaf from selma’s table

  1. What a perfect tribute to Dear Selma. Love what you’ve chosen to showcase many of Selma’s recipes, the onion and goat cheese loaf looks wonderful, I can only imagine what it must taste like. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a difficult choice as to what recipe to make..looking through Selma’s recipe index there were many, many delicious and intriguing recipes. But Selma really sold me on this one due to her story of the food photography class. I’ll certainly try my hand at more! x

      Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 It’s interesting how as bloggers we’re removed from some parts of people’s lives, but of course very privy some parts as well. And blogging friends are still undeniably real friends! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a very touching and sweet tribute to Selma. I agree with every word you said about what goes beyond blogging. The bond we form does not only end with commenting on each other. We stay in each other’s thoughts even after reading each posts. This looks so delish. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jhuls. I struggled a bit with the tribute because I was saddened and I wanted to participate, but I also realized that I never came to know Selma very well. So I wrote what I could and what I felt, and I’m very glad that you liked it and it made sense. It was also a lovely bread…I could imagine making it with company over because it comes together so quickly! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

