vanilla and anise iced honey plum cake

I found this lovely bottle of Galliano in the bottom of one of the cupboards and decided that I had to make a cake with it.

Galliano, as it turns out, is sweet and mostly flavoured with vanilla and anise. I decided I wanted to make it the base flavour of the cake by incorporating it into a syrup and an icing.

vanilla and anise iced honey almond plum cake

honey almond black plum cake

This cake was freehanded by using a great deal of whole numbers. It turned out surprisingly decently, though not great–a bit too wet. It is not very sweet at all because I wanted to top it with an excess of icing.

75 g spelt flour

75 g all purpose flour

50 g ground almond

1.25 tsp baking powder

pinch salt

115 g butter

25 g sugar

15 g honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

100 mL milk

3 black plums, chopped with sliced reserved for top of cake

Preheat oven to 350F. Butter and flour an 18-cm cake springform cake tin, and line the bottom with a piece of parchment paper.

Whisk together flours, almond, baking powder and salt.

Cream butter and sugar together with wooden spoon. Beat in honey. Switch to a wire whisk and whisk in the eggs, one at a time.

Alternate mixing the flour mixture and milk into the butter mixture. Lastly, gently fold in the chopped plum.

Scrape batter into the cake pan. Top with reserved plum slices. Bake for around 50 minutes.

 

honey and galliono syrup

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp water

good splash Galliano (~ 0.5-1 tbsp)

Place water and honey in a small saucepan and bring to a boil, cooking for a minute or so to slightly reduce. Remove from the heat and stir in the galliano.

Once the cake is out of the oven, and still in the pan, brush the syrup generously over the plum slices on top of the cake and pour the remaining syrup evenly over the cake.

 

galliano icing

I think this came out a bit thinner than I wanted it to actually. 

80 g icing sugar

15 g milk

1/2 tsp Galliano

Whisk everything together.

Once the cake has cooled, pour the icing over top and let it drip down the sides.

2 thoughts on “vanilla and anise iced honey plum cake

    1. Ahaha, sorry Trupti, you’ve caught me in the middle of some cleaning up!! I have all these aging blog posts in my drafts which I finally decided were either to be deleted or to be posted. It’s been nearly a year since a lot of them, so I’m not too excited about them anymore. At the same time, I still sort of want them around for future reference as part of the recipe archive. I decided to go ahead and just post them, but in the past (roughly around the time I actually made the cakes!) so as to not clutter up the wordpress reader.
      There’s not really too much I like about this cake–but the Galliano? Well that I like quite a bit (mostly because of the cute bottle!). I think I’ll try to make another cake with it and perhaps it will eventually replace this post if its better 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

