almond and rosemary tarts with cherries and saskatoon berries

This is the time of year when the summer is drawing to a close and everyone starts separating again.

I’ve realized how scarily easy it is for some friendships to start to fade and erode. Maybe it’s because I usually seem to make friends through brute exposure (if I’ve said “hello” to you 470 times, I probably consider us friends and I certainly hope you do as well), but after not seeing someone for a while, sometimes things change. One of the most disappointing ways is when I somehow forget that we used to be friends. A while back I saw someone and we talked a bit and it was only after we parted ways that I realized that we use to be Rather Good Friends. We texted each other occasionally, even when I only had my ridiculously cheap prepaid phone and it took me at least a minute to type “hello.” We had talked in classes and done school work together.  But when I saw them and spoke to them, I was thinking of them as an acquaintance. One that I was very fond of, and veering more on the friend-acquaintance end of the spectrum, but I had completely forgotten that we used to get along so well.Things like this remind me that I need to take initiative to keep in touch and occasionally contact others (I prefer to placidly wait, myself). Some friendships just require more effort than others to maintain. It was a lot easier when everyone I knew was in the same class, or at the very least, in the same city, but now people have started to spread out. It makes things a bit more complicated…particularly when there are close friends that you might meet on your own, and then there are only sort-of friends who you might only meet in groups. In the end you can’t keep up with everyone, and at least not all the time.And so sometimes I might stay in contact and sometimes I might not. And some friendships will fade. And for some it’s as though you can just pick up where you left off and no time has passed at all. A friend suggested the flavours: rosemary and almond and some sort of fruit (which I turned into cherry to match what I had). I’ve become quite fond of the combination.

I find saskatoon berries a bit challenging. They’re rather dry and so few in number they feel very insignificant in this tart, but the cherries cooked up soft and lovely (just watch out for the pit, or carefully pit then through the side). The rosemary is only in the tart crust, but I think it would have been nicer to have rosemary distributed throughout the filling as well for a stronger flavour.

Still, the combination of almond cream and fruit remains irresistible.

Oh and I’m bringing these tarts with me to Fiesta Friday. It’s been quite a while (if I set myself a deadline for Friday I usually meet it by the next Wednesday, you see) but I’ve been missing the party quite a bit and so finally(!!) I’ve cobbled a post together out of my 30 (now 29) drafts. Angie of the Novice Gardener is as always a wonderfully welcoming host. This week is co-hosted by the enthusiastic and lovely Jhuls of the Not so Creative Cook and the inspiring and kind Elaine of Foodbod.

almond and rosemary tarts with cherry and saskatoon berry

red fife pastry

Should make enough to line around 16 4-cm diameter tart pans when rolled thinly. Or you could line 8 small tins and then another, larger tart pan!

100 g red fife

100 g all purpose flour

a few sprigs rosemary, leaves picked and chopped

salt

1 stick butter

60 mL cold water or less

Combine the flours, rosemary, and salt. Rub the butter into the flour mixture until crumbly. Mix in the water. Chill.

 

almond cream

Makes enough to fill 6 tarts–the almond cream will rise to the top with this amount. To fill 8, make a 1.5 recipe. Adapted from Pastry by Richard Bertinet.

50 g butter

55 g sugar

pinch salt

70 g ground almond

15 g flour

40 g egg

1 tsp Triple Sec (could be increased)

Beat butter until light, add sugar and beat until fluffy and pale. Mix in almond, flour then the egg and Triple Sec. Beat some more, keeping the mixture light and full of air. Chill for only around 15 minutes before use–it will be cold but still malleable.

 

assembly

cherries

saskatoon berries

sprigs of rosemary

Roll out the crust on a floured surface until very thin. Cut into pieces and line 6 tart pans. Reserve the rest or line some additional tart pans.

Fill each tart with a layer of almond cream, place a cherry, some saskatoon berries, and a sprig of rosemary on top.

Bake at 375F, 20-30 minutes. Let cool and dust with icing sugar before serving.

28 thoughts on “almond and rosemary tarts with cherries and saskatoon berries

  1. I love how you took the opportunity of cherry season (is it still?). These tarts look so lovely and sound so delish! What a lovely treat to bring at FF table. Thanks for sharing and have a lovely weekend. Happy FF. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jhuls and thanks for cohosting FF this week 🙂 I’m not sure about the cherry season anymore (I think it’s been a month or so since I made this) but luckily there’s peaches and pears and apples to look forwards to (I think??). Have a lovely weekend and FF!

      Like

  2. Those look marvelous and I really enjoyed your post. It is disappointing sometimes how people come and go. I feel lucky so many of my favorite people are still in the same city.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for such a lovely comment Kelsey! It is a bit sad, but I suppose the happy part is that new people come as well 🙂 I’m also quite fortunate to have most of my favourite people still close by, though there are always others that I miss, whether friends or family.

      Like

    1. Thanks Julie! The first time I made a tart with almond cream it was with raspberries and I pushed them in a bit because I didn’t think they would sink. By the time it finished baking, they were completely submerged! So now I’ve learnt my lesson…just leave the fruit on top and let the oven do its work! (And does this make the true prize the pit in the centre of the cherries? 😀 When I think about it like that, I rather enjoy having the pit!)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Where to find Saskatoon berries? Do they taste like blueberries? These tarts look great, Laurie. Rosemary in the crust, wow! I, too, have a few formerly close friends that have now become acquaintances. Somehow it just happened. Not intentionally on my part, but it’s hard to keep in touch with everybody! As long as there are no hard feelings, it’s all good 😃😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Angie! Our neighbour had picked the saskatoon berries for us a couple years ago and we’ve been hoarding them in our freezer ever since. I don’t remember where she found them, but I would think there are plenty in Saskatchewan 😀 I occasionally see a saskatoon bush around as well. They’re closest to blueberries but the taste is a bit different, and while blueberries can be very juicy, saskatoons are quite dry (so I have to be a bit more careful with the way I cook them!).
      Quite often friendships end very naturally. It’s all very gentle and gradual, so I suppose it’s the way! 🙂

      Like

  4. These look lovely, so pretty and lovely flavors as well. I know what you mean on friendships – sadly I seem to keep living in places where people are a bit more transient, and doesn’t help me moving myself a bit. I guess that’s life, sometimes, but sad nonetheless.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Caroline 🙂 That does sound disappointing! I haven’t moved too much so I suppose that almost always makes it others leaving me, though saying it that way does sound a bit accusatory…

      Like

    1. Thank you! Saskatoon berries are very nice, but I’m afraid I didn’t take full advantage of them in these tarts… I let them get quite dry and dried out. An alternative such as a blueberry would do better in this way I think!

      Like

  5. Wow, these are drop dead gorgeous tarts, and your pictures really do justice to the beauty of the cherries and the cream in the tarts. I’ve always wanted to treat myself to some of those smaller ones or a rectangular one. Now I have a good excuse :). I just need my conversion chart now :). Saskatoon cherries, I wonder if they are anything like those Washington cherries that are real sweet and yellow? Anyway, a beautiful presentation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Loretta! I love how many different sizes tarts can come in as well 🙂 I used a couple different types of cherries. I wonder if Rainier cherries, which is what I know the yellow and pink cherries as, are the same as Washington cherries? They have very pale flesh and are also quite sweet. The saskatoon berries look a bit like small blueberries but are quite dry and also taste quite different.

      Like

Leave a Reply

