almond and rose apple sharlotka

Mr. Fox, being fantastic.

This is the sort of fall-aesthetic I always have in mind, and only in my mind. My actual fall doesn’t come with marigold-coloured skies, underground burrows, or even papery red leaves.

It’s all clouds and indecisively chilly weather, crowded transit and coats a bit too thin. It’s also apple time, and so then I forgive weather.

SAM_2575

A little while ago I not-so-discretely alluded to my love for milkandbun’s sharlotka recipe. This cake is an adaptation of hers (and only after making the original twice!). It is in no means an improvement–my addition of ground almonds and use of spelt made a heavy sort of cake instead of the tall, light, and yet apple-laden and moist original sharlotka.

I still prefer the original, but I can never resist playing around with recipes–for better or for worse, it seems.

SAM_2506SAM_2508SAM_2512SAM_2520SAM_2527

I don’t know when I’ll get tired of apples. I’ve been eating so many lately… and it doesn’t seem like anytime soon.

Choose only the best apple for the job…(image sources: 1, 2, 3)

SAM_2557 (1)

I thought maybe I should hurry up with some of these fall posts as it’s quite quickly becoming winter…

almond and rose apple sharlotka

Adapted from Mila of milkandbun’s sharlotka

2-3 apples

30 g ground almond

65 g all purpose flour

40 g spelt flour

3 large eggs

salt

65 g sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda

small spoonful of vinegar

2 tbsp water

1 tsp rosewater

dried rose flower

Preheat oven to 375F. Line a 7″/18-cm springform pan with parchment.

Peel, core and slice the apples. Toast the almonds in a skillet until browned and fragrant. Whisk together the almonds and flours.

Separate the eggs. Add a pinch of salt to the egg whites and whip until stiff.

Add the sugar to the egg yolks. Mix the baking soda with a small splash of vinegar, then add that, the water, and the rosewater to the egg yolk mixture. Beat with a wire whisk until thick, pale and fluffy. Using a rubber spatula, fold in the egg whites gently.

Sprinkle the flour mixture overtop and carefully fold into the batter.

Spread half of the batter into the pan, and layer with 3/4 of the sliced apples. Add the remaining batter overtop, and arrange the remaining apple slices. Sprinkle with some dried rose flower.

Bake for 40 min-1 hour or until nicely browned on top and cooked through. Dust with icing sugar and serve warm.

Apple ginger snaps should be the next project…! (Image source)

SAM_2585

8 thoughts on “almond and rose apple sharlotka

    1. Thank you Ana! The cake is nice and fluffy (and it is best without any ground almond added as in the original) and I really love the taste of cooked apples! It’s also quite quick so I do recommend taking a look at the original recipe…! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ahahaha I have just wanted to write ‘WOW’, but then I saw many wow above! 😀 Want to mention the third photo from the bottom- a slice of pie, it’s looking absolutely amazing and so delicious! Well done!!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks again for the original recipe Mila! It’s still my favourite quick and simple cake to make, especially while we still have plenty of apples around. Nothing can beat the lightness and clean taste of the original! And thank you for the lovely comment!! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

