lemongrass coconut tres leches cake

lemongrass tres leches

Lemongrass is amazing; it has the flavour of lemon, but in the most soft and delicate and slightly herbal way without the tartness and acidity of lemon lemon.

And so for the absolute longest time I’ve had this dream. This dream was to make a lemongrass cake that actually tasted of lemongrass.

lemongrass tres leches
lemongrass tres leches

It involved some of steeping milk with lemongrass that then went into the cake batter, or mincing lemongrass very finely or trying to grind dried lemongrass into a powder. None of them were particularly successful.

But this one was. In this adaptation of a tres leches cake, I infused the milk mixture used to soak the cake with lemongrass and it came out beautifully–well, at least in the soaked parts of the cake.

I love the taste of lemongrass with milk; lemongrass pairs well with rich and creamy things (lemongrass ice cream is very pleasant, by the way), and so this was perfect.

This recipe is adapted from the rosewater tres leches cake from Morning Brew & Tea, an absolutely delightful blog (and a bit healthier than my own, I do suspect). Keisha’s recipe uses coconut milk instead of evaporated (convenient as we didn’t have any evaporated) and a lovely match with the lemongrass I added. You can see another brilliant coconut tres leches cake from Prachi at the the Divine Spice Box–oh my, the mango!

I mixed a bit of shredded coconut into the whipped cream for texture, and used the toasted black sesame for taste–both help ground the cake which is otherwise quite light!

After reading Lili’s own work with the tres leches cake, I also realized where I went wrong–this should be done in a springform pan as it allows the milk to drain. I noticed my cake was considerably more soggy on the bottom, so next time I would be sure to use a springform. Not to mention, I could also pour the milk overtop a couple times more as the middle of the cake was most definitely not soaked!

The tres leches cake challenge is being hosted by Lili of Lili’s Cakes. So many lovely variations on the tres leches cake, so please do come by!

lemongrass tres leches

Lemongrass coconut tres leches cake: Borrowed and moderately adapted from Morning Brew & Tea. I really like this sponge cake; whisking the egg yolks into the whites wasn’t something I’d done before, but it turned out quite nicely and the baking powder ensures a consistent rise even when I somehow manage to flatten the egg whites with my abysmal folding abilities.

22 thoughts on “lemongrass coconut tres leches cake

    1. Thanks! I would never have thought of this way of introducing the lemongrass flavour into the cake without the tres leches cake challenge! I’m quite happy about this part as my previous lemongrass attempts were quite unsuccessful 🙂

      Like

  1. I love your lemongrass tres leches cake!!! The sponge looks beautiful and the topping too! The toasted black sesame seeds must be lovely on it too! Another version I want to try making! 🙂 Thanks for bringing it to the challenge and providing such an interesting cake and loads of information on the process! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Most of my information on the process was in retrospect on mistakes I made…which will surely help my next attempt! And with all the tres leches cakes that have linked to challenge, I don’t know how I’ll be able to resist making another 🙂 Thanks again for hosting!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re so welcome! Tres Leches cakes are tricky, aren’t they? I’m glad you’re thinking about your next one already! 🙂 I know what you mean about trying to choose one from the lovely selection! … I’m wondering whether to continue experimenting or go pretty classic and do the full cream thing next time! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Tres leches cakes require some very different considerations and techniques…part of it, I suppose, is just reframing the cake context. Your discovery that a less fine sponge is better still really stands out to me–at first as something a bit counterintuitive, but when I considered the soaking step, something that actually so much sense!
          Oh, I do love the full cream thing, and perhaps a bit too much…but as long as you share it’s perfectly fine! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I love lemon and poppy seed muffins, so I can imagine this cake tasted wonderful! It looks wonderful, moist, with a lovely porous crumb for soaking up all that milk.

    I think I’m the only one with no imagination in the kitchen who participated in this challenge. I tend to stick to recipes as they’re written and rarely experiment on my own. I’m enjoying all the variations very much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Porous is such a good description and feels like such a compliment 🙂 still, I did not manage to have milk soak right to the very centre of the cake unfortunately!
      I also think that there is so much value in following recipes–it’s how we can acknowledge all the work and testing that the author put into it, and also the best way to evaluate and provide feedback! (And may I also add that I love the creativity and care you put into your photography!)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi there! This is such a great post! & I’m delighted to see that you had a bit of inspiration from my recipe! This is a great twist (especially with black sesame as that is my FAVORITE!) and your photography is very beautiful and simple 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment and your lovely recipe!! I was really happy when the tres leches cake challenge popped up as I’d been waiting for an excuse to try making one after seeing your post!
      I really like black sesame as well, and love using it here and there too 😀

      Like

Leave a comment